More than words

 

music_lyrics

We’ve discussed the best love songs and many poeple agree that to write a good one you need not only a good melody but also great lyrics. I’d like to know which lyrics you find most INSPIRING/FASCINATING/AMUSING/PUZZLING/etc and WHY?

To get things started, here are lyrics that I like because the writer manages to tell a whole story in such a short and simple song.

If you’d like to listen to the song, click here.

28 Responses to More than words

  1. Maria Lucia says:

    Nice song, borap! I never heared that before. i like this song of George Michael:Praying for time. The words:

    These are the days of the empty hand
    Oh you hold on to what you can
    And charity is a coat you wear twice a year

    This is the year of the guilty man
    Your television takes a stand
    And you find that what was over there is over here

    So you scream from behind your door
    Say what’s mine is mine and not yours…

    It talk about modern life, we don’t care about nobody, only us. We are very selfish. And the music is beautiful:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZXE8Fohj8M

  2. Luciana Machado de Siqueira says:

    She
    May be the reason I survive
    The why and wherefore I’m alive
    The one I’ll care for through the rough in ready years
    Me
    I’ll take her laughter and her tears
    And make them all my souvenirs
    For where she goes I’ve got to be
    The meaning of my life is

    She
    She, oh she

    I like this song because it’s a romantic one and is a reference of a great love

  3. ocean5 says:

    It’s difficult to choose just one, but I have to say that one of the most romantic songs I’ve ever heard is KISS OF LIFE, composed and sung by Sade.

    There must have been an angel by my side
    Something heavenly led me to you
    Look at the sky
    It’s the colour of love
    There must have been an angel by my side
    Something heavenly came down from above
    He led me to you
    He led me to you

    He built a bridge to your heart
    All the way
    How many tons of love inside
    I can’t say

    When I was led to you
    I knew you were the one for me
    I swear the whole world could feel my heartbeat
    When I lay eyes on you
    Ay ay ay
    You wrapped me up in
    The colour of love

    You gave me the kiss of life
    Kiss of life
    You gave me the kiss that’s like
    The kiss of life

    Wasn’t it clear from the start
    Look the sky is full of love
    Yeah the sky is full of love

    Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvcNtoHwd6Y

    Marcelo, Taguatinga – DF

  4. Antonio de Almeida says:

    As Sung by Cat Stevens

    Morning has broken, like the first morning
    Blackbird has spoken, like the first bird
    Praise for the singing, praise for the morning
    Praise for the springing fresh from the word…..

    Melody and Poetry in a Wonderful voice are winning combination…..

  5. pvzin says:

    Well I really like “Free” by Matt Fisher and the Telephone Junkies..

    Free

    I can recall when I wasn’t so tall
    I thought I had it all figured out
    And I can remember those days in November
    When school was my only doubt

    ‘Cause I’m standing in front of a mountain
    Screaming and shouting
    Yes, I’m standing in front of a mountain, because
    ‘Cause I’m free
    And I don’t think I wanna be
    Freedom’s too scary for me
    I don’t think I wanna be free

    And now here I am and I’m almost a man
    Cannot stand the things that it brings
    ‘Cause I don’t understand how to be a real man
    And deal with reality things

    For the song visit: http://www.myspace.com/mattfisher and just clik on “Free” in the music player..

    ‘Cause freedom can be scary, oftenly.. x)

  6. nathalia araújo says:

    i really like the song Rehabe by Rihana and justin timberlake…

    Baby baby
    When we first met I never felt something so strong
    You were like my lover and my best friend
    All wrapped in one with a ribbon on it
    And all of a sudden you went and left
    I didn’t know how to follow
    It’s like a shock that spun me around
    And now my heart’s dead
    I feel so empty and hollow

    And I’ll never give myself to another the way I gave it to you
    You don’t even recognize the ways you hurt me, do you?
    It’s gonna take a miracle to bring me back
    And you’re the one to blame
    And now I feel like….oh!

    You’re the reason why I’m thinking
    I don’t wanna smoke on these cigarettes no more
    I guess that’s what I get for wishful thinking
    Should’ve never let you enter my door

    ….

    It’s like I checked into rehab
    And baby, you’re my disease
    It’s like I checked into rehab
    And baby, you’re my disease

  7. Elisa, Sul -GO says:

    Patience- Guns N’ Roses
    Shed a tear ’cause I’m missin’ you
    I’m still alright to smile
    Girl, I think about you every day now
    Was a time when I wasn’t sure
    But you set my mind at ease
    There is no doubt
    You’re in my heart now

    Said, woman, take it slow
    It’ll work itself out fine
    All we need is just a little patience
    Said, sugar, make it slow
    And we come together fine
    All we need is just a little patience

    http://vagalume.uol.com.br/guns-n-roses/patience.html
    Well, I love this song 😀

  8. Inaiana - Goiânia/GO says:

    I really like this song, I think it’s a kind of mysterious and at the same time it’s a diferent way to love someone.
    John Mayer – Free Fallin’

    And I’m a bad boy ’cause I don’t even miss her
    I’m a bad boy for breakin her heart

    […]

    I wanna glide down over mulholland
    I wanna write her name in the sky
    Gonna free fall out into nothin’
    Gonna leave this world for a while

    And I’m free, free fallin’
    Yeah I’m free, free fallin’

  9. Laura - Goiânia/GO says:

    It’s hard to choose the best lyrics, but I really like this song called Trainwreck by Demi Lovato. It’s so sweet and kind, and the song talks about a really cute love story. This is one of my favourite parts:

    I took your hand and you pulled me right away
    You asked me to dance and instead I said, “No way!”
    Inside I were dyin to give it a try and you beg me so I stay
    I knew you were different from the way I caved

    And you said we wouldn’t make it
    But look how far we’ve come
    For so long my heart was breaking
    But now we’re standing strong
    The things you say you make me fall harder each day
    You’re a trainwreck but I wouldn’t love you if you changed!

  10. André V. Goiânia- sul says:

    the music more lovely is This from Marron 5

    I was so high I did not recognize
    The fire burning in her eyes
    The chaos that controlled my mind
    Whispered goodbye and she got on a plane
    Never to return again
    But always in my heart…“

  11. Selena Auad - Goiânia Sul says:

    “(…)
    Well open up your mind and see like me
    Open up your plans and damn you’re free
    Look into your heart and you’ll find love love love
    Listen to the music of the moment maybe sing with me
    I like peaceful melody
    It’s your God-forsaken right to be loved love loved love love
    So I won’t hesitate no more, no more
    It cannot wait I’m sure
    There’s no need to complicate
    Our time is short
    This is our fate, I’m yours
    (…)”
    Jason Mraz – I’m yours

    I don’t love just Jason Mraz’s musics but also his philosophy towards life. He takes life as it comes and is perfectly happy with what it has to offer whether its bad or good. So Amazing! I’m, definately, a happier person while I’m listenning his songs. Thanks for that Jason!

  12. Marcos Antonio de Lima says:

    Hey Joe, where you goin’ with that gun in your hand?
    Hey Joe, I said where you goin’ with that gun in your hand?
    Alright. I’m goin down to shoot my old lady,
    you know I caught her messin’ ’round with another man.
    Yeah,! I’m goin’ down to shoot my old lady,
    you know I caught her messin’ ’round with another man.
    Huh! And that ain’t too cool.

    This lyric talk about a man who find his wife with another man and he was so brave and decide to kill her…

  13. Aline C. Gyn-Sul says:

    I love music!! But my favourite song is Jason Mraz-Lucky because is calm and inspiring. Listen this music after, is cool.

  14. ajaxsnow says:

    nobody here listen Queen. If yours had time listen “Love of my life”.

    • Mila Navarro says:

      What do you mean that NOBODY listens to Queen? I’m not nobody. :-D. I’m their biggest fan. Here’s Love of My Life – Live in São Paulo:

      • Aurelio says:

        I also listen to Queen and I’m not nobody, either, lol.
        I love “Love of my life”, “We will rock you” and others.

  15. Ieda Aires says:

    My favourite song is “Viva la Vida” by Colplay… I like the ritm, because has classical instruments! xD
    The first time I listened to it was in my school in the English class, my teacher show the music for us, and loved the music in the moment!!! =)

  16. Mariana Oliveira Gyn-Sul says:

    I Love many types of Music …

    And my favourity song is Boby Marley :DD

    I love all Boby Marley songs ;DD

    I like this because i travel in the music ;P

    My First music of Bob Marley i listened to are “Three Little Birds” , and after that i listened Bob Marley every Day :DD

    Bob Marley “Three Little Birds”

    “Don’t worry about a thing,
    ‘Cause every little thing is gonna be alright.
    Singin’: “Don’t worry about a thing,
    ‘Cause every little thing gonna be alright!”

    ;DDD

  17. Giulia and Carol - Goiânia Sul says:

    We love the song “I’m Yours” because is relly relaxing and have good lyric! The lyric says how we can live whitout problems and worrys, how can see the life more optimistic! 🙂

    We love Jason Mraz and his song “I’m Yours”!!!

  18. Patricia Martins Taguatinga DF says:

    I love Celine Dion and the song All the way (duet with Frank Sinatra) is just perfect!!!

    When somebody loves you
    It’s no good unless he loves you – all the way
    Happy to be near you
    When you need someone to cheer you – all the way

    Taller than the tallest tree is
    That’s how it’s got to feel
    Deeper than the deep blue see is
    That’s how deep it goes – if it’s real

    When somebody needs you
    It’s no good unless he needs you – all the way
    Through the good or lean years
    And for all the in between years – come what may

    Who know where the road will lead us
    Only a fool would say
    But if you’ll let me love you
    It’s for sure I’m gonna love you – all the way,
    all the way

  19. Renata says:

    I love Coldplay!! One of the best songs is Strawberry Swing from their new album Viva La Vida. Actually, the lyrics are very simple, but the melody is so beautiful! I get relaxed every time when I listen to this song and it reminds me of Scotland, or maybe England… I don´t know why. Maybe because Coldplay is one of the greatest british bands ever and their music have all the specific ingredients of an inspiring UK rock.

  20. Svetlana says:

    This music is so beatiful that i can´t put one part of this music here, because complete it´s perfect, one part complete the other.
    And this band is wonderful, its musics are good write.

    Lifehouse – Everything
    Find me there,
    And speak to me
    I want to feel you
    I need to hear you
    You are the light
    That’s leading me to the place
    Where I find peace.. again
    You are the strength
    That keeps me walking
    You are the hope
    That keeps me trusting
    You are the life
    To my soul
    You are my purpose
    You’re everything
    And how can I stand here with you
    And not be moved by you
    Would you tell me how could it be any better than this
    You calm the storms
    And you give me rest
    You hold me in your hands
    You won’t let me fall
    You steal my heart
    And you take my breath away
    Would you take me in
    Take me deeper, now
    And how can I stand here with you
    And not be moved by you
    Would you tell me how could it be any better than this
    And how can I stand here with you
    And not be moved by you
    Would you tell me how could it be any better than this
    Cause you’re all that I want
    You’re all I need
    You’re everything, everything
    You’re all I want
    You’re all I need
    You’re everything, everything
    You’re all I want
    You’re all I need
    You’re everything, everything
    You’re all I want
    You’re all I need
    Everything, everything
    And how can I stand here with you
    And not be moved by you
    Would you tell me how could it be any better than this
    And how can I stand here with you
    And not be moved by you
    Would you tell me how could it be any better any better than this

  21. C e S- GO - Sul says:

    Halo- Beyoncè

    ‘Hit me like a ray of sun,
    burning through my darkness night, you’re the only one that I want,
    think I’m addicted to your light.’

  22. Simone Corrêa, Águas Claras, DF says:

    Placebo and David Bowie together!
    Perfect!

    It’s worthwhile checking: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liSsnV_5qpw

    Strange infatuation seems to grace the evening tide
    I’ll take it by your side
    Such imagination seems to help the feeling slide
    I’ll take it by your side
    Instant correlation sucks and breeds a pack of lies
    I’ll take it by your side
    Oversaturation curls the skin and tans the hide
    I’ll take it by your side

    Tick tock
    Tick tock
    Tick tick
    Tick
    Tick
    Tick tock

    I’m unclean, a libertine
    And every time you vent your spleen
    I seem to lose the power of speech
    You’re slipping slowly from my reach
    You grow me like an evergreen
    You’ve never seen the lonely me at all

    I
    Take the plan, spin it sideways
    I
    Fall
    Without you I’m nothing
    Without you I’m nothing
    Without you I’m nothing
    Take the plan, spin it sideways
    Without you I’m nothing at all

    Simone Corrêa, Águas Claras, DF

  23. peetols says:

    I’m an English teacher and also a singer, so the thing I most pay attention to in songs are the lyrics. Heard many nice pieces of music, but with no quality in writing..
    One of my favourites is Rush’s Fly by Night… starting all over again is always a challenge, but never impossible!

    Why try? I know why
    The feeling inside me says its time I was gone
    Clear head, new life ahead
    I want to be king now not just one more pawn

    Fly by night, away from here
    Change my life again
    Fly by night goodbye my dear
    My ship isnt coming and I just cant pretend

    Moon rise, thoughtful eyes
    Staring back at me from the window beside
    No fright or hindsight
    Leaving behind that empty feeling inside

    Start a new chapter
    Find what Im after
    Its changing every day
    The change of a season
    Is enough of a reason
    To want to get away

    Quiet and pensive
    My thoughts apprehensive
    The hours drift away
    Leaving my homeland
    Playing a lone hand
    My life begins today

  24. DOUGLAS says:

    I THINK THAT MORE THAN WORDS IS THE MOST BEATIFUL MUSIC IN THE WORD. IT’S MAKE ME FEEL VERY HAPPY AND REMENBER ME WONDERFUL MOMENTS IN MY LIFE. IT HAVE FANTASTIC LYRICS AND A GOOD MELODY.

  25. janaraaa says:

    I think is the music: ”like a stone” – Audioslave.Here is the refrain:

    ‘In your house I long to be
    Room by room patiently
    I’ll wait for you there
    Like a stone I’ll wait for you there
    Alone…’

    In my opinion,this music is pure and simple romantic,because it remember me facts that marked my life.

Leave a Reply

